Sleeping at last – Mercury

I found this really interesting band called ‘Sleeping at last’. Ok I did not find them directly, youtube suggested that I listen to one song of theirs based on my other song selections and this was the start of my new favourite band. So I want to create a few blogs where I capture my enterpretation of the songs. When I was younger I always wanted my interpretation to be correct according to the writer of the song, but in time, I learned that there is no ONE CORRECT enterpretation. The CORRECT interpretation is the one that you draw out of the song. So, this is my own enterpretation and may be miles away from what the song writers had in mind, but my enterpetation gives me the most meaning and applicability to my own life. So the first song that I found from them was called ‘Mercury’ from the album ‘Atlas’.

Mercury – Sleeping at Last

Rows of houses

This is places where people live, representing different people and their personal spaces and lives
Sound asleep

They are asleep, meaning that they don’t notice him at all, he is somehow like a ghost walking past unnoticed, yet seeing everything. They can’t help him.

Only street lights

He is walking there during the night time, since the street lights are on. The street lights also light up your path and means that there is a light that nobody notices, but this light is guiding/tries to guide him through the dark streets.

Notice me

The street lights signify something that can percieve and give attention. He is alone except for the street lights and nobody else notices the struggle he is facing. They are all asleep, unaware of what he is facing.


I am desperate
If nothing else

He is searching very hard for these answers, he will do anything to get them and is willing to give up everything else to find them.

In a holding pattern
To find myself

He is analyzing the past experiences leading to this struggle. Trying to identify the cause or drive of why this keeps on happening (pattern), since he knows that this has something to do with himself. By answering this question, he would be able to find who he is.


I talk in circles
I talk in circles

This search is not easy, since it keeps on leading him in circles. As if his mind, on its own, cannot find the answer. His mind keeps on walking, keeps on searching, but the answers lead to more questions and the questions’ answers takes him back to the first question. Never reaching a destination, never finding out why are these patterns taking place.


I watch for signals
For a clue

Realising that staying in his own mind, will keep him in cirlces, he watches for some kind of signal. A signal can be anything that draws his attention and seems meaningfull, but the plural means that not everything he sees as signals, are actually signals. They can just be coincidences or meaningless events.

He hopes that the signal will give him a clue. This is like a hint to the puzzle, the puzzle that he is trying to finish but don’t know where to start.


How to feel different
How to feel new

He is trying to change his feelings. He wants to feel different to what he is feeling now. The current feelings are overwhelming him and he needs change. The change is not just any change, he would like to feel new. He wants a fresh start, a clean slate, so that what has happened can be put in the past and he can restart something else. That also implies that he feels old. The feelings have been with him for such a long time, that they have aged his soul.


Like science fiction
Bending truth

He then relates this desire to feel different and new, to science fiction that ‘bends’ truth. He feels that it is not possible in reality to really change how he is feeling or to ever feel new again. This could be because he has tried so many avenues (Streets) to find the answers he is looking for, but none has ever had the ability to change him or make him new. So this desire can only be fulfilled in science fiction, it cannot be real. But it could also further expand to FEELING LIKE science fiction. That what he is yearning for is something outside of reality, that could change reality.


No one can unring this bell
Unsound this alarm, unbreak my heart new

Here he is referring to desiring a new heart. This fits in with the desire for change and renewal. Both a bell and alarm refers to alerting someone of an event, normally which requires action. Since he is in distress and anxiety, this alarm most likely refers to his call for help. The bell that he is ringing is for someone to come save him. He is also saying that once this bell is rang, it cannot be stopped. But he also knows that no person can put his heart back together again. That it would need some supernatural event.


God knows, I am dissonance
Waiting to be swiftly pulled into tune

Here he is referring to God that knows. The street lights were the only ones who noticed him and therefore they are a picture of God and God’s light shining the way, even in the darkness of confusion and the loneliness of the night. He is saying that he is out of tune with life and he is waiting to be pulled into tune. Since we have establish that no person can change his heart and he is wating for some external force to pull him swiftly into tune, this must be referring to God. He is waiting for God to pull him back into tune, since He is the only One that can give him a new heart and align his song with the Symphony of Life, Orchestrated by God. So in desperation he calls:

I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me
I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me
I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me
I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me

Here he repeats that if God would just bring him into tune, he would go anywhere that He wants him to go. He is desperate as he said in the beginning, so desperate that he would go anywhere, do anything that He desires of him.


I know the further I go
The harder I try, only keeps my eyes closed

Now he starts finding the reason/pattern behind the struggle. He is saying that the more he walks in his own ways and try to do it on his own, the longer he remains blind. When he can’t see, he cannot sense the light around him and he will keep on walking in circles as he explained. He acknowledges that his own actions are leading him astray.


And somehow I’ve fallen in love
With this middle ground at the cost of my soul

Now he expands on why he keeps on following his own way: he has fallen in love. He is not sure how it exactly happend, but he is in love with ‘this middle ground’. The middle ground refers to the midpoint between two areas. Like grey is the midpoint between black and white. This means that the midpoint was not completely good or completely bad, but because he has fallen in love with it, he is stuck there. He is in between good and evil and that has cost him his soul. This has cost him his heart and therefore he desires to have his heart back. He has now identified where he has lost his heart. My interpretation is that he has fallen in love with another person, but this person does not feel the same way or this person is very bad to his soul, but it is general, so that you can interpret it with almost anything that you really desire.

 

Yet I know, if I stepped aside
Released the controls, you would open my eyes

In this verse, he sees the solution. He sees what he needs to do that his eyes may be opened and that he may find his way back and his heart be restored. He has to surrender all his own ideas and ways. He then says that ‘you would open my eyes’. This cannot refer to another person, since he said no person can help him. This must refer to God, that is pulling him back into tune. All that he needs to do is surrender, but he says that he knows this but that he is struggling to do it. There is still another part of the mystery that is unresolved. Why can he not just let it go.


That somehow, all of this mess
Is just my attempt to know the worth of my life…

Here is the final climax, explaining why he cannot let go. This sums up the universal truth of all man kind. He cannot let go, since what he has fallen in love with, gives him some confidence that his life has worth. He acknowledges that the ‘middle ground’ is his own attempt to give worth to his life. The driver behind all the confusion and struggle is because he does not know the worth of his own life. So the next part is my interpretation of God telling him his worth:


Made of precious metals
Precious metals
Precious metals inside
Made of precious metals
Precious metals
Precious metals inside
Made of precious metals
Precious metals
Precious metals

God tells him that he is made of precious metals inside. Gold, silver and platinum are all metals and reside inside of him. He refers to the “INSIDE” since no one can see it, where the middle ground is the “OUTSIDE”, which is seen. God directs him to look inside and see his own worth from the inside out and not trying to find his worth from the outside/concrete things. When he hears these words, he finally surrenders to God and says:


I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me
I’ll go anywhere you want
Anywhere you want me

This is now not out of desperation, but out of surrender (It is not repeating so many times as the first chorus, since he is not desperate, but is giving over). Saying to God that He should have His Way and direct his path. His eyes would then open and he would be able to see the precious metals inside, know his worth and release him from the need of the middle ground. This would enable him to fall in love with God and receive a new heart, which only a supernatural act (science fiction) can achieve. This fulfilled his words where he says that no one can unring this bell. Meaning, once God hears a heart cry out to Him, He will not stop until that heart returns to the Father.

I have experienced exactly this, just before I heard this song. I really feel that this was one of the golden strings I talked about in my first post.

Leave a Reply

